Pomegranate oatmeal

Pomegranate is a seasonal item around the holiday season. Several years ago, I added it to our holiday tradition. We have enjoyed them sprinkled on bowls of ice cream. They are fabulous in homemade cobbler. I love them in oatmeal.

In the past, I have allowed the fruit to soak in water to loosen the kernels (not sure if that is the proper term but they do resemble corn kernels). Now I just slice in half and beat on the back with a wooden spoon to loosen the kernels into the bowl.

I don’t ever follow a recipe with oatmeal. I just add whatever strikes my fancy that day. Today, I added about 1/3 cup of confectioners sugar, 1 T vanilla, about 1/2 cup half and half to six servings of oatmeal with one pomegranate.

It is super scrumptious. I love how the confectioners sugar adds a richness that complements the pomegranate.